today

Joseph, my little boy, my firstborn, I miss you so much. Thinking of this love poem I wrote for you, hoping to keep you close in my heart today and every day.

 

 

I sang to you every morning.

 

I

rubbed circles of lotion into my belly,

caressed my belly,

held it,

hugged it,

rested my hands on it,

gazed at it,

watched my profile in the mirror

growing.

 

I showed you off even though you weren’t even born.

 

I

fed you

cheese quesadillas,

keifer,

yogurt,

ice cream,

peanut butter and jelly,

Philly cheese steaks,

rotisserie chickens and

potatoes—

mashed potatoes,

baked potatoes,

roasted potatoes.

 

I measured you against a list of fruits and vegetables of increasing size.

 

I

talked to you

in Spanish,

hugged you,

held you,

poked you,

pressed your

bottom or

feet or

head,

waited for you to

kick and

wiggle and

turn and

try to escape from my belly,

pushing out sideways up near my ribs.

 

I cradled you in one arm at night as I fell asleep.

 

And I sang to you every morning.

 

© Burning Eye

One thought on “today

  1. Remembering Joseph, and thinking of his moms.

Leave a Reply

